Cricket Exchange News: Back to 2017,Mumbai Indians becoming the first team to secure 3 title victories under their belt.

Mumbai Indians clinched a thrilling one-run victory over the Rising Pune Supergiant in the final of IPL 2017

It was the ‘Maharashtra Derby’ at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on May 21, 2017, and all eyes were set on whether MI will be able to break the jinx against RPS.

MI opted to bat first. However, the early dismissals of Parthiv Patel (3) and Lendl Simmons (4) by Jaydev Unadkat hurt their chances of having a flourish in the powerplay overs. 

After that, Ambati Rayudu and Rohit Sharma initiated recovery with some delightful shots. However, both the batters, Rayudu (12) and Sharma (24) were dismissed within a space of three overs. 

The Australian pair of Adam Zampa and Daniel Christian dismissed Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya, respectively, which put MI on the backfoot, leaving the team stuttering at 78/6 by the 14th over. 

The team’s leading run-scorer, Steve Smith and Ajinkya Rahane, provided a stable start

With 31 needed in 22 balls, Manoj Tiwary came at the crease. The duo of Tiwary-Smith tried to take the game deep, but left 11 runs for the final over, which was delivered by Johnson.   

On the first ball of the over, Tiwary hit a boundary towards the square leg region and enhanced the chances of RPS’s win. However, in the subsequent delivery, he got holed out to Pollard on long-on. 

In the third ball, Smith tried to play an inside-out shot towards deep cover, giving a catch to Rayudu. Then the next two balls saw a single by Washington Sundar, and Christain took a double. 

With four needed off the last delivery, Christian could not connect the ball well and was run-out in pursuit of completing a triple. With this, MI lifted their third title. Krunal walked away with the ‘Player of the Match’ award for his match-winning contribution. 

This fixture marked the lowest total ever defended in an IPL final with the narrowest margin of one run. 

Related Posts