How many T20 World Cup India won

To get all the information about Cricket Join now
WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Please Follow On Instagram instagram

Team India has won the T20 World Cup only once but has played the finals twice and the semi-finals four times. The T20 World Cup was first played in South Africa in 2007. India’s first team has won the title of the tournament. Team India won the first T20 World Cup under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, which they won against Pakistan. India defeated Pakistan by 5 runs in the final match at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg. Irfan Pathan took 3 wickets for just 16 runs in four overs of bowling. Irfan Pathan was declared player of the match due to his brilliant bowling spell.

India won the T20 World Cup in 2007

The ICC T20 World Cup was first played in 2007 and was hosted by South Africa. When this tournament started, no one thought that Team India would win this title. Because Team India’s leading batsmen Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, and Sourav Ganguly were not part of this tournament, Team India was going to play this tournament with youngsters. With this, Mahendra Singh Dhoni was captaining for the first time in a big tournament.

Ind Vs Aus Semifinals Match ICC World Cup 2007

Team Indian had stunned everyone by defeating Australia by 15 runs in the semi-finals. Batting first, Team India set the target of 188 runs in 20 overs losing 5 wickets. Yuvraj Singh batted brilliantly in this match and scored 70 runs in just 30 balls with the help of 5 fours and five sixes.

In response to Team India, the Australian team scored 173 runs in 20 overs losing 7 wickets. The highest score of 63 runs was scored by Matthew Hayden for Australia. Team India won this match by 15 runs and reached the final.

Ind Vs Pak Final Match ICC World Cup 2007

In the India vs Pakistan final match, Team India batted first, and after batting, Team India scored 155 losing 5 wickets. On behalf of Team India, Gautam Gambhir played a brilliant inning of 75 runs on 54 balls in which he hit  8 fours and two sixes. In the end, Rohit Sharma’s quick inning of 30 runs in 16 balls, Team India could reach 155 runs.

Chasing the target of 155 runs, the Pakistan team did not have a good start, their first wicket fell in the very first over. Team India won the thriller match of the last over and won the first T20 World Cup tournament. On behalf of Team India, Irfan Pathan bowled brilliantly and Joginder Sharma won the match with a good bowling spell.

Read Also: Who has the most runs in cricket history

India reached the final in T20 World Cup 2014

In 2014, 2nd time the India Team reached the final of the T20 World Cup. This time, the two Asian teams were playing for the T20 World Cup title at Shere Bangla National Stadium, in Bangladesh’s Mirpur on April 6, 2014. While India was looking to repeat the 2011 victory with its new captain Virat Kohli.

Sri Lanka won and invited India to bat first. India came to bat but they did not have a good start, they lost the wicket of Ajay in the second innings. Team India could score only 130 runs in 20 overs in which Virat Kohli played an excellent inning of 77 runs.

Chasing the target of 130 runs, the Sri Lankan team did not have a good start. Kushal Perera was dismissed by Mohit Sharma in the very second over. The Sri Lankan team achieved the target of 130 runs by losing four wickets in 17.4 overs. For Sri Lanka, Kumar Sangakkara played an unbeaten inning of 52 runs which included six fours and one six. Kumar Sangakkara was given man of the match in the Final match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2014.

India reached the semifinals 4 times in T20 World Cup

Team India has reached the semi-finals four times so far. Along with this, Team India has reached the finals twice and has faced defeat in the semi-finals twice. Team India has reached the semi-finals in the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007, 2014, 2016 and 2022. Team India made it to the finals by defeating Australia in the semi-finals in 2007.

In 2014, Team India defeated South Africa and made it to the finals, but in the finals, Sri Lanka defeated Team India and won the title. while Team India was eliminated from the tournament in 2016 after losing to West Indies in the semifinals. In 2022, England defeated India by 10 wickets and eliminated Team India from the tournament.

Leave a Comment